Young Women’s Resource Center seeks nominations for 2024 Louise Rosenfield Noun Visionary Award

Published by Nicole Grundmeier on

(Editor’s note: A press release for this award popped into my email recently. It made my week. I had not seen Barbara Mack’s name in print for so very long. Mack, a longtime Iowa State University professor and First Amendment lawyer, was a previous recipient of the Young Women’s Resource Center’s Louise Rosenfield Noun Visionary Award. Mack was my teacher, mentor and friend. She was dyslexic, but she was the best copy editor I have ever known. Mack was also the mother I desperately needed. She died suddenly in 2012. May we all be Barbara Mack to the next generation of women, in 2024 and beyond. – Nicole Paseka Grundmeier)

The Young Women’s Resource Center announced Dec. 19 that it is accepting nominations for its 2024 Louise Rosenfield Noun Visionary Award.

The award recognizes a local leader who is dedicated to enhancing the lives of girls and women in the community. Nominations will be accepted through Jan. 8.

Nomination guidelines, instructions and other information about the award can be found here. The 2024 winner will be honored and asked to speak as part of the 25th annual YWRC Empower Gala on April 13 at the Hilton Des Moines Downtown. For more information about the YWRC Empower Gala and to purchase tickets, click here.

Here are the factors for consideration, according to the Young Women’s Resource Center:

  • If the nominee has made significant contributions toward empowering girls and young women.
  • How the nominee’s contributions advance the status and welfare of girls and women and impact our community.
  • The nominee is a community member of the Greater Des Moines area.
  • How the nominee’s characteristics, attitude and skills relate to the mission of the YWRC.
  • If the nominee would serve as a positive role model for the YWRC’s participants.

Previously honored Louise Rosenfield Noun Visionary awardees include: Connie Wimer, Lorraine May, R. Lucia Riddle, Dr. Rebecca Shaw, Wanda Everage, Sharon Malheiro, Julie McGuire, Mary Brubaker, Roxanne Conlin, Judge Artis Reis, Jo Oldson, Barbara Mack, Susan Knapp, Judy Bradshaw, Jann Freed, Mary Lynne Jones, Sandy Hatfield Clubb, Connie Boesen, Dr. Deborah Ann Turner, Deidre DeJear, Katie Patterson, Rekha Basu, Renee Hardman and Dawn Martinez Oropeza.

The award honors the legacy of Louise Rosenfield Noun, a feminist and philanthropist who founded the Young Women’s Resource Center alongside other strong Iowa women.